@mattab opened this Issue on July 30th 2020 Member

Currently when users update a segment it may look like this:

Screenshot from 2020-05-22 15-00-01

we found that it is not clear to users that after changing a segment definition, then they may lose historical data for their segment, and end up with only say 1 or 3 months of historical data. Some people got frustrated by this.

it would be valuable to better inform users of what's happening by doing the following suggested steps:

  • when process_new_segments_from = "lastX" then also mention to users to make it clear eg. Reports for this new segment will be available for the past 90 days.
  • If the RAW data is being deleted, and RAW data is newer than process_new_segments_from, then also show a clear message eg. Reports for this new segment will be available for the past 30 days (because visitor logs are kept <a link-if-super-user>for 30 days</a>).
  • (maybe these could be shown in the segment editor popover too, when creating/updating a segment?)

as always, any feedback welcome!

Powered by GitHub Issue Mirror