@dessant opened this Issue on July 24th 2016

There is a button for editing, but not for deleting.

@TomTheRock commented on February 14th 2018

yes this is really anoying!

@tsteur commented on February 14th 2018 Member

If I remember the problem is that if we added a delete custom dimension button, the previously tracked data for that dimension would still exist in the so called "log" tables which stores the raw data. If you then create another dimension, that slot would be used again and your old data mixed with new data.

Deleting this old data is not "trivial" as it may take a long time to delete this data, and obviously cannot be undone. Accidental delete would not be possible to be restored. Maybe we could start adding a command that allows users to actually delete a custom dimension and also deletes the data from the log table. This way it should not happen "accidentally" and as the script would not time out on the command line (since it could run for a very long time).

I presume the workaround is to add more custom dimension slots if needed.

@toredash commented on April 9th 2019 Contributor

Maybe we could start adding a command that allows users to actually delete a custom dimension and also deletes the data from the log table. This way it should not happen "accidentally" and as the script would not time out on the command line (since it could run for a very long time).

This please. When playing around with new sites it is a hassle to have delete it, as that is the only way to get a "clean state" for a site.

I'm waiting for the day someone added a couple of dimensions to a production site, not knowing there isn't an easy way to remove the dimension.

Powered by GitHub Issue Mirror