When the anonymous user has view access to one or more websites, you can access the following settings.
Setting this to
The login page shows anonymous users only the login page, but they still have access to all websites they have view access (e.g. via the API).
The setting should make it absolutely clear that this does not revoke any kind of access, but just changes the homepage.
BTW: The German translation is even more confusing: