@tsteur opened this Issue on May 29th 2018 Member

Delete old visitor logs

image

  • Can we change the title to eg "raw data"?
  • and instead of saying from which tables the data will be deleted, we could maybe explain what raw data is and what it impacts? Eg visitor log and segments?

Delete old archived data

image

  • Can we instead of "archived data" say "aggregated report data" for example?
  • Can we allow even to delete reports after 2 or even 1 month instead of having to keep them for at least 3 which is maybe a bit random? Like why is it 3? I presume 2 might work as well?
  • Instead of writing Data from the database numeric archive tables (archive_numeric_*) and blob archive tables (archive_blob_*) will be deleted. in both help texts can we explain what aggregated report data is etc and not mention DB tables?
  • Can we maybe remove "If enabled, old reports will be deleted. We recommend to enable only when your database space is limited. " as they might also want to remove it for GDPR and privacy reasons etc? Also the database space message and in general all DB messages etc might not be as useful on the cloud...
  • The sentence seems bit random and hard to understand (still not quite sure what the sentence is trying to say) If you have not enabled "Regularly delete old visitor logs from the database", old reports will be recreated automatically when requested
  • Maybe this sentence could explain that only older data past the configured dates will be deleted? If you have enabled "Regularly delete old visitor logs from the database", the data will be permanently lost. The sentence is also a bit hard to understand.
@mattab commented on June 25th 2018 Member

Agreed with the renaming points above :+1:

More feedback:

Can we allow even to delete reports after 2 or even 1 month instead of having to keep them for at least 3 which is maybe a bit random? Like why is it 3? I presume 2 might work as well?

it's a bit random but the idea is to prevent people from deleting everything, as no one ever wanted to delete all reports less than 3 months old (it's wasn't a use case so far). Deleting all data removes a lot of value from Matomo. Sometimes users need to reset their data (and would like to delete it all once), but i've not heard so far of users wanting to delete such recent data.
But we can change the 3 months to 1 month (no strong preference).

The sentence seems bit random and hard to understand (still not quite sure what the sentence is trying to say) If you have not enabled "Regularly delete old visitor logs from the database", old reports will be recreated automatically when requested

It was trying to say "if you delete old reports, they may be re-processed again from your RAW data when you request them". This sentence can be removed I think.

If you have enabled "Regularly delete old visitor logs from the database", the data will be permanently lost. The sentence is also a bit hard to understand.

It's trying to say that if you have also enabled "Regularly delete old raw data from the database", then the reports data you're deleting will be permanently lost. Whereas if you keep the old raw data, then you can manage to re-process the reports data that is being deleted.

@diosmosis commented on December 25th 2018 Member

@tsteur was this fixed completely in #13464?

@tsteur commented on December 31st 2018 Member

Yes 👍

This Issue was closed on December 31st 2018
Powered by GitHub Issue Mirror